Five M’s of tantra – Panchamakara


According to the spiritual master Shrii Shrii Anandamurti[1] the five M’s have dual meanings.

* Madya – wine, allegorically the divine nectar amrita.
* Mamsa – meat, allegorically control of speech.
* Matsya – fish, allegorically the ida and pingala nadi, which are controlled through pranayama.
* Mudra – gesture, allegorically spiritual company (satsang) and avoiding negative company.
* Maithuna – union, sexual intercourse, allegorically union with the cosmic mind, samādhi.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s